I entered a little contest in which 12 submissions for each of three hosts would be selected to be featured on their blogs for a few agents to peruse and request partials or fulls based on what they like.  My submission did not make it.  One of the hosts has been encouraging submitters to not be discouraged at not being chosen.

Honestly I am not bothered in the slightest.  This industry is entirely subjective.  This contest is three fellow (but agented) authors picking their own favorites.  How many authors are selected their very first try?  None that I know of. There are hundreds, maybe thousands, of agents out there.  You win some, you lose some.  I am convinced that if an author has a half-way decent book and is willing to query enough agents, eventually one will make an offer.  Look at Stephenie Meyer.  Horrible story glorifying abuse and justifying it as love, terrible writing, the most blatant Mary Sue I’ve ever has the non-pleasure of reading (and I’m not the only one who feels this way – feel free to check out Mark Reads Twilight for an in-depth review of each chapter and the major problems in these books) , and she got an agent and publisher.  And someone posted that terrible Twilight fan fiction called 50 Shades of Gray.  Yes, it was fan fiction, originally even using the names of Edward and Bella.

The next step for me is to have more betas read and make more revisions, as well as spending the month of November beta reading for others.  

