Tags

When I was 19, my beloved aunt Sandra suggested this book to me.  Rather than be turned off by the extreme length of it, I gave it a try.  Over a decade later and my heart is still in this book.  

A film adaptation came out shortly before that, and it was bland.  The lack of chemistry between the characters made it difficult for me to care about them.  So when I heard a new version, based on the musical, is coming out in December, I wasn’t so excited.

But then I saw the trailer, and wow.  WOW.  I shared it in the post before this one.  I don’t know how to add it to a post.  The sining, rather than being prerecorded with lip syncing later, which is typical, it was all live.  There is fire and passion between the characters.  There is heart and soul in Anne Hathaway’s version of “I Dreamed a Dream.”

The release of this film seemed to have ignited a renewed interest in classics, and I couldn’t be more thrilled.  I’ve got friends who’ve never cared much for reading who are embarking on the journey in Jean Valjean’s world prior to seeing it.  I am so excited about this that it literally brings tears to my eyes.  

For those who think 1400-1550 pages, depending on the translation, is long, look at it as five books.  It was written as five.  No one thinks twice about reading seven Harry Potter books even though those books altogether are longer.  If you search for antique books, you can easily find them in five volumes, though you need deep pockets to pay for them.  However even within the single version each section is broken down by book.  The time is worth it.

