Michelle Hauck was one of the first author I met when I started writing seriously.  I’m very pleased to have her here today.

 

What do you find the hardest part of writing?

For me the hardest part of writing—besides being motivated to do it—is action scenes. Dialogue and description always flow right out of me with little thought. But when you get down to the nitty-gritty of who did what and what went where in an action scene my brain gets all stymied. I kind of have to picture a paragraph at a time out in my head like a movie before I can write action scenes.

Do you have lots of different story ideas at once in your head or do you get one at a time? 

I’m a one at a time writer. I have to stick to one story and follow it though in a linear fashion. There’s no skipping ahead to get to a favorite scene. Nope, I’ve got to trudge along, concentrating on what happens next instead of what happens ten chapters from now. Might be a compulsive thing, but I like to finish things before I work on anything else.

How long have you been writing?

Unlike a lot of writers, I didn’t write my heart out as a teen or when I was in college. I actually majored in finance. The writing bug hit me kind of late in life, after I’d had my children and they reached their teen years. Suddenly, I had a lot of time on my hands because they didn’t want to be seen with me. My husband dared me to try and write a book because I read so much. Blam. Challenged accepted.

Out of all the stories you’ve written, which one would you say was your favorite?

This is an unfair question! I love them all for different reasons. I love my middle grade hamster story for letting me be silly. I love my adult epic fantasy, Kindar’s Cure,  for letting me do a lot of twists and turns and weave so many POVs. I guess I’d say my YA dystopian is my favorite. Probably because that main character is the closest to being like me.

Favorite character?

That’s just mean … I’m going to go with my middle grade hamster, Tom. He’s all in your face sarcasm about the first grade children he’s surrounded with at the elementary school where he’s trapped.  They drive him bonkers. But underneath, well underneath he has a very soft heart.

What inspired you to write Kindar’s Cure?

Kindar draw a lot of inspiration from Henry the VIII and his daughter Elizabeth the I. I set their world and made my royal relationships a lot like 1500’s England. But at the heart of the inspiration for Kindar’s Cure—which is the story of a sick princess looking for a cure—was a cold I had with a bad cough.  I was propped up in bed, coughing uncontrollably and thought, what if a main character was as unhealthy as this cold? So was created my princess with a wasting disease and deadly cough. A princess with a determination a mile wide to prove herself.

What book are you currently working on?

This is tough because I haven’t really worked on a pitch or log line for my newest WIP. It’s a YA fantasy from the POV of a boy in the military of his world. It’s my first story told with a male main character. His city-state is surrounded by an army from the North, all their allies are destroyed. Ramiro’s squad is sent to fetch a witch from the swamps, to see if their magic can dislodge the army of Northerners. But the witches are the traditional enemies. It’s called Grudging because that’s the friendship that develops between them. It’s set in a medieval Spanish society.

If you could cast any celebrities to play any of your characters, who would you choose?

Hmm. Alec Baldwin might make a good voice-over for Tom the hamster. I think he could do the sarcasm. I’m really not that big into celebrities. Just have a movie version of one of my books would knock my socks off. I’d think about actors after I recovered from that shock.

If we opened your writing playlist right now, what would we find?

You’d find a heck of a lot of Nickelback and their sound-alikes, Theory of a Dead Man, OAR, Lifehouse. I like music that has intensity when I write. No instrumentals for me, please. Feeling, angst, and a lot of it.

 

